:::: MENU ::::

Macs may send sensitive docs to iCloud without warning

NewImage

 

It seems that Apple got a bit over-protecting with security conscious users by storing some documents you’re editing directly in the iCloud.

You can turn this off by using the following line in the Terminal applicaiton

 defaults write NSGlobalDomain NSDocumentSaveNewDocumentsToCloud -bool false

 

You can turn it back on with

defaults write NSGlobalDomain NSDocumentSaveNewDocumentsToCloud -bool true

 

Representing a potential privacy snare for some users, Mac OS X Yosemite uploads documents opened in TextEdit, Preview, and Keynote to iCloud servers by default, even if the files are later closed without ever having been saved.

The behavior, as noted in an article from Slate, is documented in a Knowledge Base article from December. But it nonetheless came as a surprise to researcher Jeffrey Paul, who said he was alarmed to recently discover a cache of in-progress files he intended to serve as “temporary Post-It notes” that had been silently uploaded to his iCloud account even though he never intended or wished them to be.

Link: arstechnica.com

Comments are closed.